Combined City Employees Election Committee Ballot Counting

City Hall, 45 Lyon Terrace, Wheeler Rooms A and B, Bridgeport, CT 06604 August 6, 2024

Minutes

Jim Meszoros, Chairman of the Combined City Employees Election Committee and NAGE R1-200 opened the ballot counting meeting at 9:28 a.m. Present were David Dobbs, Combined City Employees Election Committee member and IAFF Local 834 President, Angel Resto, President of the School Crossing Guard Association, Deborah Brelsford, Clerk to the Civil Service Commission, HR Generalist Lisa Maisonet, Civil Service Staff members Wendy Mezzanotte and Marcel Daye, and employee representative candidate Luis Santiago.

Eric Amado, Joseph Savo, Anthony Paoletto and Tony Cavalli appeared throughout the morning.

The group opened each envelope and sorted ballots into 7 separate boxes labeled for each of the 7 candidates:

- Joseph Savo
- Luis Santiago
- Carlos Pabon
- Joseph Estephan
- Gilbert Velez
- Marcus Dierna
- Earl King, Jr.

Ballots and envelopes were counted and to ensure accuracy both were recounted. Ballot numbers were read and marked on a spreadsheet to ensure no duplication of ballots.

The tally:

- Joseph Savo 171
- Luis Santiago 218
- Carlos Pabon 70
- Joseph Estephan 32
- Gilbert Velez 37
- Marcus Dierna 49
- Earl King, Jr. 48

Eric will notify Mayor Ganim that Luis Santiago won the election and request that he be sworn in before the August 13, 2024 Civil Service Commission meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:26 p.m. and all materials were left on Personnel Director Eric Amado's desk.